## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

May 29, 2020

The Honorable Peter A. DeFazio Chairman House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman DeFazio,

As the Committee considers legislation related to surface transportation this Congress, we urge you to reject any proposals that would increase the maximum allowable weight or length of trucks on interstate highways including state and/or industry specific exemptions as well as pilot programs. We commend your ongoing work to address the complex challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, and we appreciate the need to ensure the efficient movement of critical goods during this crisis. Looking ahead, we ask you to keep in mind that any increase to truck size or weight would present both an unacceptable risk to motorist safety, including the safety of truck drivers themselves, and an unaffordable strain on roads and bridges in our communities.

In 2016, the Department of Transportation (DOT) completed a three-year study of the impacts of longer and heavier trucks on our roadways and recommended that there be no changes in current truck size and weight laws. The study found that heavier trucks had a 47 to 400 percent higher crash rate in limited state testing. A 2013 study found that double-trailer trucks have an 11 percent higher fatal crash rate than single-trailer trucks. The higher crash rates are consistent with DOT findings in the 2016 study that longer double-trailer trucks would take 22 feet longer to stop than current twin-trailer trucks on the road today, and heavier and longer trucks had higher out-of-service rates than currently allowed 80,000-pound trucks.

We are also concerned with the extraordinary economic costs that would accompany changes to truck size or weight limits. DOT found that increasing truck weight by only ten percent over the current 80,000-pound limit would increase bridge damage by 33 percent; allowing a double 33-foot trailer configuration would trigger more than a billion dollars in costs just to prevent catastrophic events on bridges. Heavier and longer trucks would almost certainly mean more trucks on the road as freight is diverted onto our roads from other modes of shipping, creating billions of dollars in new repair and maintenance costs.

The added dangers and costs of allowing heavier and longer trucks will not just be felt on our interstates. With trucks travelling billions of miles a year on local roads, we fear that the burden of increased infrastructure deterioration and the increased risk of fatal crashes will fall disproportionately on small towns and communities. Many states and localities are already unable to keep pace with existing infrastructure needs, and these added costs and risks will likely prove too much to bear.

Congress has repeatedly rejected proposals to increase truck size and weight in a bipartisan fashion, and a large coalition of stakeholders – including public safety advocates, law enforcement organizations, local government groups, representatives of truck drivers, and members of the trucking industry – have joined in that opposition. These stakeholders understand the important role that trucking plays in our economy and in our response to COVID-19, but they also understand that allowing longer and heavier trucks on our roads will cost us dearly, not only in tax dollars, but also in lives.

Thank you for your consideration and for the Committee's continual efforts to ensure the safety of all who use our roads.

Sincerely,

numes P. Une Dover

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Haly M8

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress Mark Takano Member of Congress

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Scott Peters Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress Jim Himes Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Kendra S. Horn Member of Congress

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" Garcia Member of Congress

John Lewis Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Member of Congress Judy Chu Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

James R. Langevin Member of Congress Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress Tim Ryan Member of Congress